Close this search box.
Press Release, General

Educational Choice for Children Act Introduced in Congress

Today, members of Congress have come together to support giving over one million students an opportunity to have an educational environment that fits their needs. By creating a federal scholarship tax credit, the Educational Choice for Children Act would be a game-changer for school choice expansion nationwide.The American Federation for Children looks forward to working with Invest in Education and other partners, as well as lawmakers, to advance this crucial piece of legislation. Statement from Tommy Schultz, CEO of the American Federation for Children:“We are grateful for Senator Cassidy, Representative Walorski, and the other bold lawmakers putting forward this legislation. It truly has the power to deliver transformational change and opportunity to more than one million children across America. The Educational Choice for Children Act will complement existing school choice offerings in states and advance new and needed opportunities around the country. Importantly, these innovative scholarships will also help with critical learning loss, special needs services, and career and technical education. We commend the members’ leadership and willingness to fight for families and freedom in education.”Details:

  • This bill would help over 1 million students and complement the work states are already doing to support choice by providing up to $10 billion in annual tax credits for corporate and individual donations to non-profit Scholarship Granting Organizations.
  • It would help families with multiple uses – special needs services, addressing learning loss, private school tuition, and career and technical education.
  • Students in any elementary or secondary education setting are eligible to receive a scholarship, provided they reside in households with incomes at or below 300 percent of the median income level in their area.
  • The bill would become effective in tax years beginning January 1, 2023.
  • Congresswoman Jackie Walorski (R-IN) is lead House sponsor; Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA) is lead Senate sponsor.
  • Original Senate cosponsors are Senator Tim Scott (R-SC), Senator Steve Daines (R-MT), and Senator Todd Young (R-IN).
  • Original House cosponsors are Rep. Burgess Owens (R-UT), Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN), Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA), Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI), Rep. Marianette Miller- Meeks (R-IA), and Rep. Jim Baird (R-IN).


Thank you for signing up! An email has been sent to your inbox.

Request a Fellow to Speak at Your Event