School Choice Supporters Victorious in Oklahoma Elections

The American Federation for Children, the nation’s voice for educational choice, congratulates numerous candidates who support educational choice on their successes in today’s general election in Oklahoma. The election results are in line with public opinion polls of Oklahoma voters that have found strong, bipartisan support for school choice.
Statement from Tommy Schultz, National Communications Director for the American Federation for Children:
“Access to a quality education for all children is the civil rights issue of our time. Today in several important races in Oklahoma, candidates who stood for the right of Oklahoma families to choose the best education options for their children prevailed, proving there is no conflict between being an advocate for improving traditional public schools and supporting families. It’s time to give children more educational opportunity through charter schools, education savings accounts, tax credit scholarship programs, and similar policies. AFC applauds these candidates for their commitment to Oklahoma children.”
OFC-AF Election Highlights

  • SD 6 – David Bullard (R) – Open Seat – WIN
  • SD 32 – John Montgomery (R) – Open Seat – WIN
  • SD 38 – Brent Howard (R) – Open Seat – WIN
  • HD 39 – Ryan Martinez (R) – Incumbent – WIN
  • HD 40 – Chad Caldwell (R) – Incumbent – WIN
  • HD 43 – Jay Steagall (R) – Open seat – WIN
  • HD 99 – Ajay Pittman (D) – Open seat – WIN

AFC’s in-state committee, the Oklahoma Federation for Children Action Fund (OFC-AF) supported the following champions of school choice who won the general election, based upon results posted by the Oklahoma State Election Board at the time of release.
David Bullard is a veteran educator in rural schools who was named “teacher of the year” in his district in 2017. Bullard was elected to the Durant-based SD 6 today.
John Montgomery has served as state representative in HD 62 since 2014, and recently served as the vice-chair of the House Appropriations and Budget Subcommittee on Finance. He was elected today in SD32.
Brent Howard is a fifth generation Oklahoman whose family still works the same farmland homesteaded by his great-grandfather before Oklahoma’s statehood. Howard is a graduate of rural Navajo High School, Oklahoma State University and the University of Oklahoma College of Law. He has a legal practice in Altus. Howard was elected today to represent SD38.
Rep. Ryan Martinez, a reliable supporter of school choice efforts, won re-election in the Edmond-based House District 39.
Rep. Chad Caldwell, who authored legislation to augment Oklahoma’s successful tax credit scholarship program, which provides educational opportunities to children in low-income families, prevailed in his re-election race in the Enid-based House District 40.
Jay Steagall became the Republican nominee in HD 43 despite being deployed in the Middle East as a member of the Oklahoma Army National Guard during much of the primary. His family campaigned on his behalf, and Steagall often used video calling to directly connect with voters. Tonight he prevailed in the general election.
Ajay Pittman, a Democrat, won election to HD 99 after prevailing in a primary runoff earlier this year.
The Oklahoma Federation for Children Action Fund (OFC-AF) also congratulates Republican gubernatorial nominee Kevin Stitt upon his election victory. Stitt is a supporter of giving families options with their children’s education. Stitt has stated, “I would love to see more choice, more competition, because I think all boats rise when we get more competition in the education system,” and he is devoted to making Oklahoma rank in the top 10 states in education.
The American Federation for Children is the nation’s leading school choice advocacy organization and works in states across the country to help secure additional, high-quality educational options for families.


Thank you for signing up! An email has been sent to your inbox.

Request a Fellow to Speak at Your Event