Press Release, School Choice

School Choice Supporters Advance in Texas Races

The American Federation for Children, the nation’s voice for educational choice, congratulates all the school choice champions supported by the Texas Federation for Children PAC in Tuesday’s primary runoff election.  It was an incredible night for candidates supported by TFC PAC, which invested more than $500,000 in state legislative races during the 2022 primary and primary runoff combined.
Statement from Mandy Drogin, State Director, American Federation for Children-Texas:
“Thanks to the continued legislative victories for pro-school choice candidates, and the support of Governor Abbott and Lieutenant Governor Patrick, Texas parents will soon be able to choose the best school for their children and will no longer be confined to failing schools simply because of the zip code into which they were born. Without a doubt, voters took to the polls to elect pro-parent, pro-school choice candidates.  We look forward to working with all the newly elected members of the legislature to ensure the 2023 legislative session is the best one yet for the educational freedom movement.”
TFC PAC made independent expenditures in the following runoff elections in which school choice candidates won tonight:

  • Ellen Troxclair HD 19
  • Carrie Isaac HD 73
  • Carl Tepper HD 84
  • Stan Kitzman HD 85
  • Stephanie Klick HD 91

In addition, TFC PAC endorsed Terry Leo Wilson who won in HD 23 and there were five runoff races tonight where both candidates support school choice: TFC PAC congratulates:

  • Caroline Harris HD 52
  • Ben Bumgarner HD 63
  • Nate Schatzline HD 93
  • Mark Dorazio HD 122

Mano DeAyala HD 133 is currently up by over 100 votes at the time of release.


Thank you for signing up! An email has been sent to your inbox.

Request a Fellow to Speak at Your Event