Missouri Voters Elect School Choice Champions

The American Federation for Children, the nation’s largest school choice organization, congratulates the candidates who support giving parents the opportunity to choose the best school for their child on their victories in Tuesday’s elections in Missouri. The election results are in line with numerous public polls that have found strong, bipartisan support for school choice.

Statement from John Schilling, President of the American Federation for Children:

“Tonight, the voters of Missouri chose to elect school choice champions up and down the ballot from Governor to State Representative. Missouri parents are demanding more options for their children’s education and tonight’s election results were a strong vote in favor of more school choice.”


The American Federation for Children has been advocating in Missouri for educational excellence and academic accountability with an agenda that includes statewide expansion of charter schools, the creation of a private school choice program and easier access for students to virtual learning. We are encouraged by the following victories:

Governor Mike Parson
Attorney General Eric Schmitt
State Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick
HD 30 Jon Patterson
HD 31 Dan Stacy
HD 33 Chris Sander
HD 40  Chad Perkins
HD 47 Chuck Bayse
HD 50  Sarah Walsh
HD 63 Richard West
HD 65 Tom Hannegan
HD 95 Mike O’Donnell
HD 96 David Gregory
HD 98 Shamed Dogan
HD 100 Derek Grier
HD 105 Phil Christofanelli
HD 106 Adam Schwadron
HD 124 Dr. Lisa Thomas
HD 134 Alex Riley
HD 156 Brian Seitz
HD 157 Mitch Boggs
SD 15 Andrew Koenig
SD 19 Caleb Rowden
SD 23 Bill Eigel
SD 27 Holly Rehder